Latest news from us

Back to category

Predictive maintenance: recognising disruptions before they occur

Predictive maintenance
Process monitoring, Condition monitoring, Breakdown monitoring

 

With Christian Maier GmbH & Co. KG on the way to the Digital Factory

Digitalisation, Industry 4.0, Smart Factory and Predictive Maintenance – various challenges that the maierGROUP are currently facing with. Since 2017, Christian Maier GmbH & Co. KG has been developing and researching intelligent rotary joints. After the successful patent grant (in 2019) for the LinkC, the core of the sensor solution, the intelligent rotary joints was presented to our customers for the first time at the K show in 2019. Subsequently, the first pilot project with state-of-the-art sensor technology in the rotary joints for real-time measurement started at Lacom.

In 2020, we won the Ostwürttemberg Innovation Award. Step by step, we are implementing our innovations. Our goal is: the ability to maintain machines and systems in a predictive, i.e. proactive, manner in order to minimise downtimes and malfunctions or, at best, even avoid them completely. On top of that, we offer them the safety of their turning operation and they can monitor their entire process.

KI prevents machine breakdowns
Together with the university of applied sciences in Aalen, we are working on the latest research results on a test stand that is designed to reduce unplanned machine breakdowns and prevent lengthy maintenance processes. The aim is to use artificial intelligence to recognise the condition of certain components and predict imminent failures. The test stand is equipped with many sensors that provide data on temperature, pressure, speed, wear, torque, leakage, temperature and wear to the rotating union. In order to examine four mechanical seals simultaneously, the test rig has been running continuously since March. This allows the wear behaviour of a rotating union to be recorded realistically over various process parameters. For the evaluation, the data is fed into an artificial intelligence that learns from the interrelationships of the individual parameters. The goal is for the rotating union to become a smart element of an entire plant. Through the AI, the machine states and irregularities are to be recognised in real time, and imminent failures are to be foreseen. The project is funded by the “Central Innovation Programme for SMEs” of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy.

 

Prüfstand _Christian Maier GmbH & Co. KG
Test bench of Christian Maier GmbH & Co. KG at Aalen University

 

 

 

 

 

ZIM projekt

 

Secure your lead with intelligent rotary joints

With our new sensor technology, we help our customers to improve the economic efficiency of their plant. Our sensor solution offers manufacturer-independent compatibility through IO-Link. Unplanned downtimes are largely prevented by predictive maintenance. They provide reliable process data at all times. This allows optimisation potentials to be recognised and implemented. Conversely, energy and CO2 are saved. Continuous monitoring of the rotating union improves machine safety, making torn hoses a thing of the past.

 

We look forward to the next steps with you.

Mr Manuel Schöferle (Manuel.Schoeferle@maier-heidenheim.de) and Mr Markus Scharting (Markus.Scharting@maier-heidenheim.de) will be happy to assist you.

 

Newspaper reports:

Schwäbische Post | Freitag, 02.07.2021
Wie Maschinenausfälle verhindert werden können

 

Aalener Nachrichten | Montag, 07.06.2021
Tag der offenen Tür: Wissenschaft digital erleben

 

Presseinformation Hochschule Aalen, 18. 05.2021
Mit KI Maschinenausfälle verhindern

Neues aus unserem Unternehmen

zurück zur Übersicht

Predictive Maintenance: Störungen erkennen bevor sie entstehen

Digitalisierung, Industrie 4.0, Smart Factory und Predictive Maintenance
Predictive Maintenance

Mit Christian Maier GmbH & Co. KG auf dem Weg zur Digital Factory

Digitalisierung, Industrie 4.0, Smart Factory und Predictive Maintenance – vielfältige Herausforderungen, welche die maierGROUP angeht. Seit 2017 entwickelt und forscht die Christian Maier GmbH & Co. KG an intelligenten Drehdurchführungen. Nach der erfolgreichen Patent-Erteilung (im Jahr 2019) für den LinkC, das Kernstück der Sensoriklösung, wurde die intelligente Drehdurchführung auf der K-Messe 2019 erstmals unseren Kunden präsentiert. Anschließend startete das erste Pilotprojekt – mit modernster Sensortechnik in der Drehdurchführung zur Echtzeitmessung – bei Lacom.

2020 gewannen wir den Innovationspreis Ostwürttemberg. Schritt für Schritt setzen wir unsere Innovationen um. Unser Ziel ist es: die Möglichkeit, Maschinen und Anlagen vorausschauend, also proaktiv zu warten, um Ausfall- und Störungszeiten zu minimieren oder diese bestenfalls sogar komplett zu vermeiden. Hinzu kommt, dass wir ihnen die Sicherheit ihrer Drehdurchführung bieten und sie ihren ganzen Prozess überwachen können.

 

KI verhindert Maschinenausfälle
Gemeinsam mit der Hochschule Aalen erarbeiten wir uns die neuesten Forschungsergebnisse an einem Prüfstand, der ungeplante Maschinenausfälle verringern und langwierige Wartungsprozesse verhindern soll. Ziel ist es, mittels Künstlicher Intelligenz den Zustand bestimmter Bauteile zu erkennen und bevorstehende Ausfälle vorherzusehen. Der Prüfstand ist mit vielen Sensoren ausgestattet, die Daten zur Temperatur, Druck, Drehzahl, Verschleiß, Drehmoment, Leckage, Temperatur und Verschleiß zur Drehdurchführung liefert. Um vier Gleitringdichtungen gleichzeitig zu untersuchen, läuft der Prüfstand seit März durchgehend. Hierdurch wird das Verschleißverhalten einer Drehdurchführung über verschiedene Prozessparameter realitätsnah aufgezeichnet. Für die Auswertung werden die Daten in eine Künstliche Intelligenz eingespeist, die aus den Zusammenhängen der einzelnen Parameter lernt. Zielvorstellung ist, dass die Drehdurchführung ein smartes Element einer Gesamtanlage sein wird. Durch die KI sollen die Maschinenzustände und Unregelmäßigkeiten in Echtzeit erkannt, und bevorstehende Ausfälle vorhergesehen werden. Das Projekt wird durch das „Zentrale Innovationsprogramm Mittelstand“ des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie gefördert.

 

Prüfstand _Christian Maier GmbH & Co. KG
Prüfstand der Christian Maier GmbH & Co. KG an der Hochschule Aalen

 

 

 

 

 

ZIM projekt

 

Mit intelligenten Drehdurchführungen Ihren Vorsprung sichern
Mit unserer neuen Technologie der Sensorik helfen wir unseren Kunden, die Wirtschaftlichkeit ihrer Anlage zu verbessern. Unsere Sensorlösung bietet durch IO-Link eine herstellerunabhängige Kompatibilität. Ungeplante Stillstandzeiten werden durch vorausschauende Wartung (Predictive Maintenance) weitgehend verhindert. Sie liefern jederzeit zuverlässige Prozessdaten. Dadurch können Optimierungspotentiale erkannt und umgesetzt werden. Im Umkehrschluss wird Energie und CO2 eingespart. Durch die dauerhafte Überwachung der Drehdurchführung wird die Maschinensicherheit verbessert, wodurch abgerissene Schläuche der Vergangenheit angehören.

 

Wir freuen uns auf die nächsten Schritte mit Ihnen.

Herr Manuel Schöferle (Manuel.Schoeferle@maier-heidenheim.de) und Herr Markus Scharting (Markus.Scharting@maier-heidenheim.de) sind gerne für Sie da.

 

Zeitungsberichte:

Schwäbische Post | Freitag, 02.07.2021
Wie Maschinenausfälle verhindert werden können

 

Aalener Nachrichten | Montag, 07.06.2021
Tag der offenen Tür: Wissenschaft digital erleben

 

Presseinformation Hochschule Aalen, 18. 05.2021
Mit KI Maschinenausfälle verhindern